Monday, August 16, 2010

Confederate Monument and Flag grace De Leon Plaza, Victoria, Texas

Victoria County Confederate Monument
The beautiful city of Victoria, Texas, is home to an impressive and distinctive Confederate Monument. 

Noted sculptor Pompeo Coppini reached an agreement with the local William P. Rogers chapter of the United Daughters of the Confederacy. If they would let him design the statue - it would be a more fitting tribute to the men who fought for Southern Independence than any other Confederate statue in the state. They agreed and Coppini made this piece - the only one of its kind.   

This unique work of art stands in De Leon Plaza, in the heart of Victoria, across from the Victoria County Court House.  It was dedicated on  June 3, 1912.

The inscription on the monument bears the sentiments of the people of Victoria for the brave Confederate soldiers who defended their homeland from Union aggressors during the War for Southern Independence. It reads:


Six Flags Memorial in De Leon Plaza, Victoria, Texas
Also in DeLeon Plaza, the Six Flags Monument displays the flags of the six different sovereign nations which have flown over the land that is today known as Texas. Victoria County is the only county in Texas where all six flags flew.  They are (left to right) United States, Confederate States of America, Texas, Mexico, Spain and France.  The three large granite plaques below the flags state that the monument is dedicated to the "Explorers, Founders and Colonists of Victoria."

During the War Between the States, Victoria was on one branch of the "Cotton Road" which went from Alleyton (Colorado County) to Brownsville. The road was a major lifeline for the South - trading cotton for arms and medicine through neutral Mexico. The town was threatened with a hostile Yankee invasion in 1863 and so the railroad from Port Lavaca was destroyed. Camp Henry E. McCulloch trained Infantry and Cavalry companies for Confederate service.

No comments:

Post a Comment